The Explorers' League Honoree

Robert Dickinson & Ronald W. Thiessen


Hunter Dickinson Companies:
Heatherdale Resources Ltd. | Curis Resources Ltd. | Northcliff Resources Ltd. | Rathdowney Resources Ltd. | Constantia Resources Ltd.

Robert Dickinson is the Chairman and co-founder of Hunter Dickinson Inc., a Canadian corporation, which since 1985 has grown to become one of the largest and most successful mine development groups in North America.
Read More


XL: Ron and Bob, thank you for agreeing to this interview-it's great to have Hunter-Dickinson join the Explorer's League.

BD: We're delighted to be included.

XL: Everyone knows a little about Bob and Bob, the two men who gave Hunter Dickinson its name, but not so many know about Ron. Bob Hunter is retired, Bob Dickinson is here to answer our questions, and so is Ron. Let's start with a brief look at Ron's role in HD.
Read More

Company Info

Robert Dickinson & Ronald W. ThiessenInducted: March 2005

Companies on the Move

December, 1, 2010

Farallon Mining (T.FAN) got a friendly takeover bid from Nyrstar (a multi-metals company based in Belgium) last month, offering to buy FAN for C$0.80 per share. The offer represented a 32% premium to the 20-day average share price, and a 23% premium to the closing price on November 12, the last day of trading before the offer.

Taseko Mines (T.TKO; NYSE:TGB) got a knockdown punch from the federal minister of Environment, who rejected federal authorization for the Prosperity gold-copper mine in British Columbia to proceed. This is curious because TKO received provincial government approval last January. At stake is a 33-year life-of-mine operation with 5.3 billion pounds of copper and 13.3 million ounces of gold (Reserves and Resources). Within two days of the announcement, TKO officials were forced to eliminate 65 jobs as a direct result of the decision.

  • Dr. Mark O’Dea
    Inducted: Jan 2013
  • Andy Wallace
    Inducted: Apr 2011
  • AndrĂ© Gaumond
    Inducted: Apr 2011
  • Jim O’Rourke
    Inducted: Feb 2011
  • Dr. Rui Feng
    Inducted: Oct 2009
  • Dr. Sergey V. Kurzin
    Inducted: Oct 2008
  • Catherine McLeod-Seltzer
    Inducted: Jan 2007
  • Arnold Armstrong
    Inducted: Jan 2007
  • Robert A. Quartermain
    Inducted: Dec 2006
  • Ron Parratt
    Inducted: Feb 2006
  • David Lowell
    Inducted: Sep 2005
  • Lukas Lundin
    Inducted: May 2005
  • Ron Netolitzky
    Inducted: Apr 2005
  • Jorge Patricio Jones
    Inducted: Apr 2005
  • Robert Dickinson & Ronald W. Thiessen
    Inducted: Mar 2005
  • Roman Shklanka, PHD
    Inducted: Feb 2005
  • Simon Ridgway
    Inducted: Feb 2005
  • John Prochnau
    Inducted: Feb 2005
  • Duane Poliquin
    Inducted: Feb 2005
  • Adolph Lundin
    Inducted: Feb 2005
  • Ross Beaty
    Inducted: Feb 2005