The Explorers' League Honoree

Catherine McLeod-Seltzer


Catherine McLeod-Seltzer, a recognized leader in the minerals industry, is the Chairman of Pacific Rim Mining, Bear Creek Mining, and Stornoway Diamonds.
Read More


Ms. McLeod-Seltzer is well known in mining circles for backing proven mine finders and building successful mineral companies, including Arequipa Resources, Francisco Gold, Miramar Mining, Bear Creek Mining, Stornoway Diamonds and Peru Copper Inc. Catherine has raised over $350 million in working capital for exploration to date, and been involved in over $4 billion in corporate transactions in the mining industry. Her leadership experience, financial savvy, access to capital, and respect from the exploration and mining community has been an invaluable asset to the companies she is involved in.
Read More

Company Info

Catherine McLeod-SeltzerInducted: January 2007

Companies on the Move

January, 3, 2011

Stornoway Diamonds (T.SWY) will soon own 100% of the Renard diamond project in Northern Quebec. Management is raising the money to buy the remaining 50% of the project by issuing the equivalent of 37% of company shares to Diaquem, a subsidiary of the Quebec government. The Renard project has a resource of 30 million carats, with expected production of 1.6 million carats per year. A bankable feasibility study is due Q311; if the economics are proved up, Renard will be Quebec’s first diamond mine.

If you haven’t read our XL induction interview with Catherine, it’s one of the more fascinating ones – it includes stories of how she paid for her college education from mining stocks, the huge buyout of her earlier company, and her secrets to making a killing in this industry. You can check it out here.

  • Dr. Mark O’Dea
    Inducted: Jan 2013
  • Andy Wallace
    Inducted: Apr 2011
  • André Gaumond
    Inducted: Apr 2011
  • Jim O’Rourke
    Inducted: Feb 2011
  • Dr. Rui Feng
    Inducted: Oct 2009
  • Dr. Sergey V. Kurzin
    Inducted: Oct 2008
  • Catherine McLeod-Seltzer
    Inducted: Jan 2007
  • Arnold Armstrong
    Inducted: Jan 2007
  • Robert A. Quartermain
    Inducted: Dec 2006
  • Ron Parratt
    Inducted: Feb 2006
  • David Lowell
    Inducted: Sep 2005
  • Lukas Lundin
    Inducted: May 2005
  • Ron Netolitzky
    Inducted: Apr 2005
  • Jorge Patricio Jones
    Inducted: Apr 2005
  • Robert Dickinson & Ronald W. Thiessen
    Inducted: Mar 2005
  • Roman Shklanka, PHD
    Inducted: Feb 2005
  • Simon Ridgway
    Inducted: Feb 2005
  • John Prochnau
    Inducted: Feb 2005
  • Duane Poliquin
    Inducted: Feb 2005
  • Adolph Lundin
    Inducted: Feb 2005
  • Ross Beaty
    Inducted: Feb 2005